Sometimes Your Game Needs to Take a Little Trip

Living in Chicago makes practicing a tad more difficult than I would like. The driving range stays open and has heaters, but it can be absolutely brutal. Indoor facilities are expensive and not that common. I have been able to implement some indoor chipping and putting, but those can get tedious. The bottom line is, practicing in Chicago can be miserable during the winter months.

That is why I take my annual trip home for the holidays to see family and energize my golf game. This is easy to do when your destination is a golf mecca like San Diego. This year I am going to spend ten days in San Diego with family, friends and lots of golf.

Every year I go home and spend a good amount of time at the range and on the course. I always come back feeling great about my game and full of anticipation for the Chicago weather to turn warm and the courses to open back up. It would be nice to carry some of the momentum I gain while I am in San Diego with me throughout the winter. I have a few ideas of how I might be able to do that, but nothing is sticking out to me as the clear-cut solution.

As it stands now, I am enjoying my golf in San Diego and trying to increase my practice in Chicago leading up to the 2013 season. I have set some lofty goals this season and I will need to start the year right with commitment and consistent practice to achieve those goals. For me, this holiday season marks the beginning of my 2013 journey. Here is to a successful New Year!

4 Comments to “Sometimes Your Game Needs to Take a Little Trip”

  1. Golf getaways are a great way to keep your skills up and get your golf fix for the winter. I’m also looking at building a DIY simulator for home.

  2. 10 days in San Diego sounds awesome. Play as much as you can and store up all the pars and birdies for winter hibernation. Unfortunately, I’m going in the wrong direction (northern New England). Not going to be any golf played up there. Enjoy and have a great New Year!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,773 other followers

