Finding a Go to Shot

I got a chance to play a brand new course last week and I was quite excited prior to the round. The anticipation of playing a new challenging course always gets me fired up, but I was playing with my boss and I really wanted to impress him. Prior to the round I decided to pull up the scorecard off of the course’s website and figure out exactly what clubs I would hit off of each tee to give me the best approach shot to fit my game. I wrote it all out, hole by hole and put it in my golf bag so I would be ready to execute once I stepped on the first tee. That’s about as long as my plan lasted.

My first tee shot was on a relatively short par 5 and I pulled my driver out, not taking into account how small the landing area for my driver distance really was. I quickly pulled my tee shot left into the tall grass and never saw it again. I had to re-tee with my 3 wood and almost got to the green on my next shot with a 4 iron. That was my first wasted shot of the day. The next hole was a long par 4 and I felt the need to make up for my first bad tee shot. Again, I pulled my driver left, and my approach shot.

That was it. I abandoned my plan. Two holes of nervous pulls was enough for me. I quickly realized I didn’t have control of my golf ball and I needed to find it quick. I stuffed the driver in the bag and went to my 3 wood. Since I had been pulling the ball I went to an exaggerated cut shot. Instantly I felt like I could control my ball much better on a tight course. I also knew I wasn’t going to be hitting the ball as far so I clubbed up on most of my shots which actually led to a less stressful swing.

In the end, I didn’t score the way I wanted to, but put up a respectable round. The course was much tighter than advertised and I paid the price on a few holes. The moral of my round was definitely finding a shot I felt I could control. As soon as the ball started going left on me I knew I was in trouble and had to find a way to dial it back. Once I found that control it was back to just playing golf. The game is much more fun that way.

4 Comments to “Finding a Go to Shot”

  1. Great lesson: Always throttle down to the club that will get you in play. Deciding how long to go until you make that decision is what’s difficult, but it only took you two holes to assess. Well done. And lesson2: I hope you made sure the boss won by a couple strokes :)

  2. I love this. Committing to and trusting a swing is the only way to become consistent. It doesn’t have to be perfect as long as you know where its going. Great post. Keep up the good work.

    If you get a moment I’d love for you to take a look at my golf blog as well!

    whereitlies.wordpress.com

  3. Nice post. It really drives the point home that you need to take what the course will give you. I started playing league this year on a new course for me which was extremely tight. After the first round, I realized using my driver was counterproductive and have teed off with other clubs, mostly my 3 wood, ever since.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,453 other followers

