Missing Way too Many Greens

So far this season I have had a couple of decent rounds and a few very uncharacteristically horrible rounds. The last round I played I only hit a handful of fairways and had to scramble on every single hole except 2. My iron play was and has been downright awful. This last round I missed a ton of greens due to poor play off the tee. The course we were playing has not cut their rough all season and it has grown beyond penal. Playing out of that kind of rough, there is just no way to hit the ball close and make good scores.

The other rounds I have played I have had to scramble and grind out my scores and even when I’m hitting greens I’m not hitting it close enough to give myself good chances. I got my irons custom fit over two years ago and generally really like my clubs. I’m starting to wonder if a change in my irons would be a good thing for me at this point since I’m struggling so much to hit greens. I have been hitting the range hard and practicing a ton, but my misses just aren’t very good. If I could eliminate some of the bad pulls and pushes just fractionally I think I could pick up some strokes each round.

I have been toying with the idea for a while now and think I am going to do another fitting. Last time I did my fitting I went in completely blind towards any brand and bought the set that fit me best. It was between a set of Adams and Mizunos and I went with the Adams. I’m hoping another fitting will shed some light on what is going on with my ball striking and hopefully I can straighten some of my issues out. There is a giant PGA Superstore outside of Chicago that is doing a fitting promotion that I am going to try to check out in the next few weeks.

Anyone have any advice on clubs to check out or getting fit for irons in general? Would love to hear some feedback.

One Comment to “Missing Way too Many Greens”

  1. If you are pulling and pushing your irons AND you were satisfied with the original fitting, why change clubs so quickly; it sounds like a mechanical error that should be addressed by a professional, especially if you are practicing a lot and are still hitting it bad. I’d invest in the lessons before new equipment. Remember, practice makes permanent, not perfect. Good luck! Brian

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,708 other followers

