Yellow Light Swing

I will be the first one to admit that I tend to swing too hard at times.  My irons aren’t so bad, but my driver is as guilty as they come.  I don’t know why, but I have a deep seeded need to try and smash the ball.  Maybe it is because I have played competitive sports my whole life and hate when my buddies out drive me.  If I had a clear answer to this question I would do my best to fix it.

I know the smart thing to do is to take a shorter backswing and sacrifice the extra 10 to 20 yards for the safe lie in the fairway, but I have a really hard time making myself do this.  When I play it smart and don’t go at my drives with a green light (bomb it) mentality I hit it straighter and more consistently.  I do, however, get in trouble when I try to slow my swing down too much and hit it with a red light swing.  The ball hits off the heel or toe and goes no where.  I like to think of my perfect driver swing speed as a yellow light swing where I know I could go after it with more, but I am still being aggressive with the speed.

It is so frustrating because I know the answer to my own dilema, but making myself adjust my swing is harder than it sounds.  Even if I do it for a few holes during my round I inevitably get over confident and take a rip at one and blow it way left and shatter all my confidence from before.  As I go through this season I think a huge key for me is to keep it steady for 18 holes.  I need to build up my mental/focus endurance to last a full round.  Here is to hoping.

Leave a Reply

