Golf Fitness is the Next Step for my game!

As I continue to work on my game and my swing mechanics I have come to the realization (very late I might add) that I absolutely need to start gearing my workouts specifically for my golf game.  If you haven’t taken the time to peak around Titelist’s TPI site, do yourself a favor and go check it out.  They have tons of free content, videos and drills to help you tweak your fitness to help your game.

For me, I can’t get enough of the workouts that help me improve my upper body and hip flexibility.  All too often I feel myself restricted in my backswing and I know I can improve this for a more fluid swing.  I have been focusing on a lot of band and core drills that have made me feel much looser with my driver swing.  I don’t notice it as much with irons, but my general physical feeling out on the course is much improved.

I know the normal perception of golf is that you don’t have to be in great shape to be good at it.  I will admit that there are a few examples of great golfers who are less than perfect in their physique, but that is changing.  Guys like Dustin Johnson, Jason Day, Rory McIlroy and Nick Watney are a new breed of golfer who are very physically fit.  Granted they are following in the foot steps of Tiger who was always a physical specimen of flexibility and power.

I honestly believe that you can greatly improve your game by hitting the gym with a specific golf workout.  I will keep my progress updated both on the course and in the gym as I really dive into this.

Leave a Reply

