Late Takeaways from the Open

I am going to go ahead and say that the Open championship is my least favorite Major.  I know a lot of people out there will say I am an idiot because Golf was created for Links style play and the Open is the truest test any golfer can face.  Is it really though?  It seemed more than anything else a test of who got the best weather conditions and who got the best bounces.

I am not even kidding when I say that Daren Clarke almost lost the championship when he was faced with a down hill shot out of the rough and it came shooting out low caught a lucky bounce and shot over the pot bunker in the fairway and rolled onto the green.  If his ball had come to rest in the bunker it would have been an automatic 1 shot swing.  No doubt in my mind there.  Can you really call that shot a true test of golf or is it luck?  It seemed more like a miss hit rewarded  rather than good links style golf, but there is one thing I won’t take away from Clarke this week.  That was his clutch putting and great short game.  He was stellar and there is no disputing that.

I don’t want to take anything away from Darren Clarke here.  His story is fantastic and he seems like a great guy and a deserving champion.  Bravo to him.

The other think that struck me during the Open was the American presence in the Top 10.  Anthony Kim, Rickie Fowler, Dustin Johnson and Phil all finished in the Top Ten.  European dominance?  Not so fast guys.  Not only did some big name Americans play well, but they did it on Europe’s home court.  I think American golf will be just fine.

5 Comments to “Late Takeaways from the Open”

  1. I decided a while ago that I couldn’t rank the majors. I like them each for different reasons. The Masters means it’s spring and the course is so amazing that I don’t mind the sappy CBS coverage. The US Open is the ultimate test, our national championship and a chance to see the best take on impossibly hard set-ups. The Open? Hey I’m on the west coast so it means I can get up at 5am and there’s golf on TV from some windswept section of the islands my ancestors came from. And the PGA? Used to diss it but it has delivered the most drama in some recent years and it also has a more varied rotation so we get to see different courses. They’re all great. It’s golf!

  2. Agreed, and apparently Rory McIlroy feels the same way! I was a little surprised to hear him say what he did considering he’s from that side of the pond.

  3. Sounded a little like sour grapes. The guy took too much time off, wasn’t fully prepared, and didn’t play that great. Just don’t blame the weather 🙂

Leave a Reply

