Headed Out to Cog Hill Thursday & Saturday

I’m happy to report that I will be making my way out to Cog Hill for the first and third rounds of the BMW Championship this week!  I went to two practice rounds during the 08 U.S. Open at Torrey Pines, but have never actually been to a PGA Tour event so needless to say I am pumped up.  Not only will this be my first PGA Tour event, but there are only 70 players in the field!  How can I go wrong with picking a group to go watch?

I was looking at the tee times this afternoon and it seems like a pretty clear choice to go check out Phil, Gary Woodland and Bubba for at least part of the day.  Teeing off right after them is Luke Donald, Brandt Snedeker and Jason Day!  Those two groups alone are going to be amazing, but I don’t think I would be a true golf fan if I didn’t take the time to go watch Ernie swing a club in person even if it is on the driving range!  There are a few guys I am determined to go see, especially since there is no guarantee that they will all make it to Saturday when I go back out there.

Watching these guys play in person is something I have always wanted to do, but I am also equally excited to go spend some time watching them on the range both before and after their rounds.  I am very interested to see how the prepare for their rounds on the range and how they practice after as well.  I know that most of them will be amazing out on the course, but I really want to see how they spend their practice time on the range and what their practice routine is like compared my own.  I know it will be drastically different and I can’t wait to see what I can take away from that experience and apply to my own game.

I know for sure that I need to work on my own short game if I am going to break 80 in the next month or two, but I don’t have a great practice routine right now.  What better place to get an idea of what the pros work on than at an actual event?  I think I will spend a good deal of time on Thursday as well as Saturday morning hanging around the putting and chipping greens just to get an understanding of how good these guys are around the greens.  I know they are good, but I need to see it for myself in person.

As of now I am just going to check out the tournament on Saturday, but Thursday I might have a pretty cool experience up my sleeve to share with everyone so definitely keep an eye out for the report on that one.

Leave a Reply

