First Snow in Chicago means First Post of 2012

The snow is falling heavily here in Chicago today for the first time since last winter and the golf season won’t be on the horizon for many months.  It might seem depressing when looked at from the perspective that I won’t be able to play a real round of golf for the entire winter, unless I take a trip somewhere.  I guess it is a good thing I don’t see it that way.

I am starting to see the winter off-season for what it really is, a golden opportunity.  I have four to five months in front of me where I can focus on nothing but my physical fitness and my fundamentals.  I don’t have a tee time this weekend or a score to worry about.  This is a prime opportunity to improve my game and I intend to take full advantage of it.  I am lucky enough to work in an environment where I can take an hour in the middle of the day to go work out or make a few swings in the gym.

I have been so focused on breaking 80 for so long that I have very much neglected the fundamentals of the golf swing.  This will not be the case this next season.  This winter will be a “back to basics” approach to the game.  If I don’t break 80 next season it will not be because my fundamentals were off.  I am committed to working on them for an hour each day if not more every day until the snow melts and the courses open again.  For anyone else out there who is dealing with a few months of winter I urge you to do the same thing.

The other interesting aspect of winter, is that Golf is back on TV and it gets me fired up.  Watching the two opening tournaments in Hawaii makes me think about how fun it is going to be to tee it back up when the weather heats up.  I get fired up to go work on my fundamentals because I know what is waiting for me in a few months.  It is obviously tough to keep this enthusiasm throughout the entire winter, but I am going to give it a shot.

As far as I am concerned, my 2012 season started today even though I won’t play a round of golf for nearly four to five months!  Here we go!

5 Comments to “First Snow in Chicago means First Post of 2012”

  1. You actually taking full swings inside or working on chipping and putting? I actually got out to my course on Jan 2 for a full short game session, but the weather has turned too cold for outside practice. . .for now. Still hoping for that January thaw in a couple weeks.

    • I’m not making full swings just yet inside. I am focusing on my takeaway, impact position and release of the club right now. I have a specific drill I am doing to start. Eventually I will progress to full swings, but I truly believe that working on chipping and proper impact position will have a positive effect on the overall golf swing. You are brave to head out in Jan for short game practice. I wish that was a viable option here in Chicago, but we are in full blown winter right now.

  2. Yeah it was 60 degrees on Jan 2 and I just finished Stan Utley’s short game book and had to try it out. Funny, you mention chipping because he portends that the chipping impact position is the same as the full swing and if you practice his method, your full swing will improve. Did you read that book?

    • I have not read that book yet, but it is on my list. I am currently reading a book called The Talent Code by Daniel Coyle. It talks about why certain areas of the world produce certain sports stars and it breaks down the fact that programs and countries stress fundamentals in different ways. It is an interesting read although it doesn’t actually discuss golf. The premise of fundamentals first is great though.

  3. Too bad I’m gonna smoke you like a philly blunt this summer. Ask your mental coach to prepare you for that!

Leave a Reply

