I Gave Away My Best Round of the Summer

I went out and played this weekend and for some strange reason before I even got to the course I knew it was going to be a good day.  The night before I had good feelings about how I was going to play.  I hit the ball perfectly in my warm up.  I had zero anxiety on the first tee.  Everything just felt right.

I played stress free golf for the first seven holes of the day and had my best score to date going.  That is when I started thinking about my score.  As soon as I looked down at the scorecard and realized how well I was playing I started to feel nervous and anxious to see if I could keep it up for the rest of the round.

I got to the 7th tee which is a short par 4 that requires no more than a 5 iron to get into pitching wedge distance and I thought to myself, “I am playing this well, why not hit a driver and try to make a birdie?”  Man was I wrong.  The moment I pulled my driver out and deviated from my game plan and got away from how I know I should play the course I imploded.  I ended hitting my driver into a plugged lie in a bunker and left with a double.  Not the end of the world, but I was playing catch up the rest of the round.  I was no longer playing my game and it lead to bogey after bogey after bogey.

My best round of the summer quickly became my worst round of the summer just because I let myself get caught up in the score instead of the next shot.  I wish I could say lesson learned, but I know that this has happened to me before and I can’t seem to let myself get away from checking the score card.  I’m anxious to see what will happen in my next round and if I am able to put this big disappointment behind me quickly.  I certainly hope so.

4 Comments to “I Gave Away My Best Round of the Summer”

  1. Don’t be too hard on yourself. In fact, I’d argue the only mistake you made was not staying in the present and looking at that scorecard. The aggressive play with the driver can be defended, especially if you were hot. Taking gambles when you are playing badly is what you should avoid, not the opposite. So you gambled, you lost, that’s okay. Can we call you Phil?

    • Ha! Nice one. I still wish I had just played it safe. I am playing for my first 79 not my first 69. Hopefully this will be a great lesson in staying in the present and moving past the gambles I end up losing. I’m sure this won’t be the last.

  2. So I’ll assume in that seven hole hot streak you were pretty close to even par. You’ve proven that you’re capable of easily going low enough to break 80. Now you just need to get out of your own way and let it happen. Forget about 79 and just enjoy the process; you’ll get it.

  3. Yep, I was only a few over and I know that I should look at it from that mind frame. Thanks for the encouragement and the further I am removed from the round the less it stings. I need to just get back out there and play again ASAP.

Leave a Reply

