The Golf Freak Out

I haven’t been posting much lately, mainly because I haven’t been playing great golf and I don’t have much positive to report.  I do have a fairly consistent group of friends I play with and out of this group of mediocre golfers have come some of the funnier golf freak outs I have seen in a while.  A few of them I felt necessary to share.  I also feel it necessary to say that these three incidents aren’t the norm for our group and we respect every course we play, but like any golfer knows, sometimes the game just gets the best of you and you have had enough.

1) The Phone Call

The first incident might be my favorite of all time.  My friend, let’s call him Tim, hit his tee shot after a day of frustration on the tee and duck hooks it left.  The rest of our group finds this amusing.  Tim proceeds to throw his driver to the ground, kick his driver, throw his visor on the ground, kick his visor, pick them all up and storm off to the cart.  The rest of our group was a bit in shock at the outburst.  Tim can get hot-headed, but this was the worst we have ever seen.

With Tim safely back in the cart I went to tee my ball up.  By the time I was approaching my ball I could hear a phone ringing.  Tim was making a phone call.  When the person on the other line answers we hear, “Ya, hi this is Tim, when is the next available lesson with Mark?  Tomorrow at 11am?  Ok, I will take it.”  Tim had scheduled his next golf lesson before anyone else in our group had hit their tee shots.  He continued to pout in the cart as we continued to find the scene utterly hysterical.

2) The Water Toss

The second incident involves my other buddy, lets call him Andy.  Andy was having a tough day with his short game shots.  He was consistently leaving his 100 yard and in shots short.  His second shot on a Par 5 finds the water and he takes his drop where it crossed into the hazard last which put him right up next to the ledge of the water.  His next shot required him to carry the ball about 80 yards to the green over the remainder of the water.  Right on cue he puts his next shot short and back into the hazard.  Shortly following his ball into the water was his wedge.  Not a word was said as the club sunk to its new home.  Andy came back to the cart took his drop and finished the hole.  It wasn’t until after the round that any of us had the guts to ask him about the toss.  His response, “It was time for that club to go.”

3) The Back to the Range

This is one of the more recent events of the three.  It involves my buddy Tim from “The Phone Call”.  Tim was having a very bad front 9 after taking 2 weeks off from playing golf due to vacations and work.  He was playing so poorly that on about the 7th hole he made a comment that he just wanted to go back to the range and work on his game.  We laughed it off as Tim just being Tim, but at the turn he got out to get some food.  Came back, unhooked his bag from the cart and walked off to the range.  He wanted no part in the back 9 and we obliged by leaving him to work out his demons by pounding a few buckets while we finished our round.

Anyone else have any good blow ups to share?

 

3 Comments to “The Golf Freak Out”

  1. Jon, could you tell “Tim” I’ll be by sometime this week to partake in some “milk of the poppy” with him? Thanks bro!

  2. I remember the last time I seriously threw a club. Many years ago I helicoptered a 4-iron after a poor second shot on a par-5. Landed in tall fescue and my playing partners and I searched for ten embarrassing minutes before we found the club. At that point I decided that I was a recreational golfer and was not going to take this game too seriously, because it can kill you out of frustration. I can only imagine what a touring pro like John Daly was thinking during his Tin Cup moment at Bay Hill a few years ago. Think he carded an 18 on a par-5. When you screw up that bad, and golf is your profession, that’s got to be worse.

    Sorry to hear you’re not playing that well. What happened to the focus on the fundamentals you were working on?

    • The fundamentals and focus are still there and I have improved in parts of my game (i.e. off the tee and shorter irons), but I haven’t been practicing and playing as much as I need to in order to seriously improve. The short game and putting suffers when I take two weekends off due to weddings etc. The game isn’t miserable, just not improving much.

Leave a Reply

