Archive for May 25th, 2011

May 25, 2011

Grip Pressure for Consistent Contact

I would say the one truly glaring area of my game that I always struggle with is hitting greens in regulation.  I am comfortable with my shot shape and the fact that I am going to make good contact with the ball on all of my shots, but the amount of draw or fade I have on my shots varies and I have been struggling to lock it down.  Golf is a game of misses and I have been striving to make my iron shots miss a lot better than they have in the past.

In order to do this I have been focusing on hitting down on the ball more instead of trying to pick the ball clean.  I have written a few posts about the importance of taking a divot recently so I won’t go into that again.  The second thing I am focusing on is keeping a bit of pressure on the last three fingers on my left during my swing.  I tend to flip the club over through impact which causes a hook and having all the pressure of my left hand on my thumb and index finger makes my last few fingers almost come off the club at the top of the backswing.

By keeping my pressure focused on my last three fingers I am able to keep the club head much more steady throughout the entire swing and deliver a much more square club face at impact.  It also creates more stability in my entire grip which decreases my flip and creates a much straighter ball flight.

A lot of people would say this is a basic fundamental, but so is keeping your eye on the ball and how many people do you see messing this up?  A lot!  I know it is a fundamental, but I didn’t realize I was doing this until someone pointed it out.  Now that it has been brought to my attention it has helped my iron game, but I still need to fine tune it if I am going to get down to a single digit handicap.