How Expecting Nothing can Help Your Golf Game

There is something great about getting away for a golf trip. There is a level of comfort knowing that you have a few rounds to play in a new location on good courses and with good friends. I recently took a golf trip to North Carolina and played some decent golf coming right out of summer. Since I have been back in Chicago I have been up and down with my scoring with one decent round among a handful. This weekend I am off to San Diego for a few rounds and I am expecting nothing.

That might sound weird at first, but I have given this a lot of thought recently after reading a post on a blog from Brian Penn about scoring expectations and the “ah-ha” moment. (Read it here). This post points out the fact that if we only play once a week or once a month we often put unnecessary pressure on ourselves to perform well. A lot of that comes from the fact that we don’t know when our next round will be. When we are able to let go of that scoring thought we often times play much better.

After reading this, I couldn’t help but think back on some of my best rounds. Often times they have come on a golf trip when I have multiple rounds lined up, I wasn’t keeping score myself (someone else in the group was) or I wasn’t planning on playing and went out for an impromptu round. The common theme among all three of these was that I didn’t have much expectation going into the round. When I have all week to think about my one round of golf I often put too much pressure on myself and lose my cool at the first sign of my round turning south.

So, for this trip to San Diego I am going into each round with zero expectation. I don’t care if I shoot 100 or if I shoot 79. I’m just going to enjoy the round, focus on each shot and let go of the bad shots when they happen. The strategy is going to be to focus on each and every shot as they come no matter what the result of the previous shot or hole was. So for my trip to San Diego I’m literally expecting nothing.

One Comment to “How Expecting Nothing can Help Your Golf Game”

  1. Great approach. Dr Bob says to focus on only two things when you play: 1: Try your hardest on every shot, 2: Have fun. Have a great trip to SD!

Leave a Reply

